Home > Uncategorized > Memories and Impressions of Bergen, Norway

Memories and Impressions of Bergen, Norway

I’ve been living and working in Bergen for over six moths and I’ve been meaning to collect together, as a sort of personal record, some of the key thoughts, observations and impressions of, what is for me a new city and country.I’m going to break them up into small manageable chunks.  They may be of interest to the wider world, but, as I say, it’s really a personal record for my own benefit.Memories and Impressions of Bergen, Norway Part 1I arrived, late at night in February, Bergen had just had a large snowfall. I was told later, that it was not quite normal. I first of all, noticed the skill and confidence of the taxi driver as he drove on pretty deeply covered roads. He had snow tyres, of course, but still.

Media_httpbrianbgefil_nulrf

The snow lay for a good few days and was replenished on a few occasions. I noticed a pretty efficient snow clearing system was in place and travel was never jeopardised.I, of course, took the train to the top of one of the hills above Bergen at the first opportunity.  You can see more pics on my Flickr site.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

